Authentication Workflows: Difference between revisions

From IVS Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 28: Line 28:
<h2>SSO Authentication</h2>
<h2>SSO Authentication</h2>
SSO accounts are automatically created when a user logs in for the first time. The user can be placed in the proper group automatically upon login by mapping SSO attributes to a user group within VALT.
SSO accounts are automatically created when a user logs in for the first time. The user can be placed in the proper group automatically upon login by mapping SSO attributes to a user group within VALT.
<ul>
<li>Users are assigned to groups each time they log in, based on the group membership attribute being passed</li>
<li>If a user does NOT have a user mapping associated with their account, user gets moved to "Users without Group" and has restricted access</li>
<li>If a user's user mapping changes, they will be moved to the correct group upon their next SSO sign-in</li>
</ul>
{{hr - 2}}


{{img - no_click | file = SSO Flow Chart.png}}
{{img - no_click | file = SSO Flow Chart.png}}
</onlyinclude>
</onlyinclude>
}}
}}

Revision as of 21:36, 27 March 2024

Authentication Workflows

There are three different authentication methods that can be used for VALT:

  • Local Authentication
  • LDAP Authentication
  • SSO Authentication


Local Authentication

Local accounts are created and assigned to groups within VALT. Local accounts can be created manually or imported from a list.


LDAP Authentication

LDAP accounts can be imported manually using an LDAP search and lookup tool within the software or imported automatically on a schedule based on group.


SSO Authentication

SSO accounts are automatically created when a user logs in for the first time. The user can be placed in the proper group automatically upon login by mapping SSO attributes to a user group within VALT.

  • Users are assigned to groups each time they log in, based on the group membership attribute being passed
  • If a user does NOT have a user mapping associated with their account, user gets moved to "Users without Group" and has restricted access
  • If a user's user mapping changes, they will be moved to the correct group upon their next SSO sign-in